The Heyerdahl Award

The Thor Heyerdahl International Maritime Award was established in 1999 by Thor Heyerdahl and the Norwegian Shipowners’ Association. The award recognizes candidates who have demonstrated exceptional technical innovation and environmental work in line with Thor Heyerdahl's spirit.

Les videre


HeidelbergCement and Felleskjøpet Agri

HeidelbergCement and Felleskjøpet Agri was presented with the Heyrdahl Award by Crown Prince Haakon during the annual conference 2021 broadcast at Gamle Deichman

HeidelbergCement won the award together with Felleskjøpet AGRI for their joint effort to requisition the world's first zero-emission cargo ship and using their role as product owners to initiate development of multiple zero-emission solutions for larger cargo ships travelling longer distances.

In their statement, the award committee said that this year’s winners set a new standard for the product owner’s role in efforts to reduce emissions from shipping



Lasse Kristoffersen presents Norled with the Heyerdahl award at the annual conference in 2019

In its reasoning, the expert committee said that Norled is once again introducing another type of zero emission technology to the ferry sector. In 2015, the company introduced the first electric ferry MF Ampere. Now, with a contract to put one of the world’s first hydrogen-fuelled ferries on water by 2021, they accelerate the green shift in the maritime industry.

This project brings expertise and technology, and eventually operational experience and infrastructure, and paves the way for other projects. The winner is lauded not only for the ship itself, but for the learning and signal effect.


The Ocean Clean Up

The ocean cleanup recieves the award on stage during the annual conference in 2017

The Ocean CleanUp is given the award for its combination of technological innovation, and raising awareness and addressing the global problem of marine litter.


Rolls-Royce Marine

Rolls Royce Marine accepting the Heyerdahl Award in 2014

Rolls-Royce Marine was given the award for 2014. The expert committee, chaired by Secretary General of the International Chamber of Shipping (ICS), Peter Hinchliffe, says in its reasoning that Rolls-Royce has taken a holistic approach to vessel design and has succeeded in combining a number of innovative solutions that increase energy efficiency and contribute to significant reductions in emissions.

The committee emphasized that the measures are adaptable for a broad range of ship types and thus have the potential to reduce emissions from many segments of the world fleet. 


Eidesvik AS

Eidesvik AS won the Thor Heyerdahl Award 2011. The Norwegian shipping company won the prestigeous environmental award because of their groundbreaking adaption of fuel cell technology in offshore service vessels and use of LNG 


Farstad Shipping

Farstad Shipping was awarded the 2009 Heyerdahl Environmental Award for its commitment to improving environmental standards in the shipping industry.

With its two new offshore vessels, Far Samson and Far Serenade, Farstad Shipping have been recognised for their high environmental ambitions, proactive approach to managing environmental issues, and installation of innovative and more eco-friendly systems on board their vessels. 


Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics

Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics (WWL) was awarded the Heyerdahl Environmental Award 2007 for its commitment to improving the environmental standards in the shipping industry. Over a period of six years, WWL successfully reduced SO2 emissions by 75 550 tons. That is the amount of SO2, emitted by the city of London over a similar period. 


NYK Line

The Norwegian Minister of Trade and Industry, Mr. Børge Brende, presented the Award to the Japanese company NYK Line during an Award Ceremony in Tokyo. NYK Line was awarded for their outstanding commitment to continuously improving their environmental performance beyond what is required by rules and regulations. 



The International Tanker Owners Pollution Federation Limited (ITOPF) received the Award particularly for their efforts in connection with the Prestige accident. Dr. Helmut Sohmen, the Chairman of IOTPF and Managing Director Dr. Ian White received the award on behalf of the organisation. 


Green Award Foundation

The first Heyerdahl Award was won by The Green Award Foundation for the incentive-based system Green Award to spotlight shipping companies investing in the quality of ship and crew. A Green Award ship meets high, but manageable technical and managerial requirements.